too late in summer for my girl to lay eggs?

ColleenT

Location (City and/or State)
Lehigh Valley Pa
i live in Eastern Pa. I just went to give my 3 some earthworms, and the one female has her butt parked in a corner and it appears she might be laying eggs. Is it too late in the season for my region?

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
I'm no box expert but I don't believe they normally lay this late. Spring and early summer would be their time. I would incubate them.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Doing a quick search on the internet, it says they can over winter in the nest and hatch in the spring. That's of course if that is correct info. Takes them 120 days in the north too hatch so that would bring them into the colder months, so they probably would over winter in the ground and hatch next year.
I would still incubate them.

ColleenT

Lehigh Valley Pa
i wasn't asking if they would hatch, i was asking if she is actually laying eggs this late.

Pastel Tortie

Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
North Florida
What are the current (recent) temperatures like up there?

For context, I'm in the Florida panhandle. I wouldn't rule out them being able to lay eggs at any time, as long as the nesting site and ground conditions were favorable. When they actually hatched would be another matter.

Markw84

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Sacramento, CA (Central Valley)