thank you in advance

SGT Fish

Location (City and/or State)
Columbus, Ohio
hello, let me forst of all say thank you for all the information you fine people put out. i am new to tortoises but have quite a collection of reptiles. I read a lot on her before ordering my hatchling sulcata from tortoise supply. But I finally created an account because I just got a second Sulcata that needs some TLC.

the new one was given to me by a person i met through work. He has been raising it for eight years but could no longer care for it. Its only about 10-12 inches shell length and has some pyramiding and an overgrown and split beak. It was being kept in a long skinny glass aquarium where it couldnt even turn around without climbing the wall. I can tell its shell is shorter because of this. The good news is that it is very alert and active as well as being a very hungry eater. They said they only fed it once a day thinking that it will stay smaller. I have had it walking and grazing in my yard the past couple days and i threw together a heated cardboard house with slate tile floor for it to sleep in at night. I absolutely love this new tortoise. I have been soaking it in the tub and feeding it plenty. I dont think it has turned down a meal yet except for some cactus it doesnt want to touch, and it isnt too big on the orchard grass hay. Im about to order some cuttlebones for them, especially because my yellow belly slider would benefit from one too.

Has anyone successfully potty/litterbox trained a sulcata? Its fine right now because it spends its day outside but i worry about wintertime, by next summer i should have a larger house with a better enclosure, but i couldnt pass him up especially with him living in a small aquarium and not being cared for properly.

I'll post pictures when i get time. but thanks for all the leg work everyone puts in.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA