Taking on sad, previously-owned Russian tortoise

unlikelyrussian

Location (City and/or State)
mid-Alantic US
Hello all,
I am new here. I have just taken on a Russian tortoise that was owned for over a decade by someone I know.
It's clear to me after reading 15 minutes on this forum that the tortoise has been inadequately cared for.
His housing is far too small and has no hide-away. There's no UVB light. No thermometer. No food came with him, so no Mazuri feed. There was calcium supplements however.
I just made an appointment with an exotics vet and I hope he doesn't have any serious health problems.
I am no tortoise expert (understatement of the century) but to me he looks listless and like its an effort to move around, although he eats and has defecated.
I will set about trying to improve his situation.
Has anyone taken in a tortoise like this and seen improvements over time with better diet and environment?
Thank you for all the info on this site.

Ink

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Virginia
First of all thank you for helping this tortoise! Please post pictures of the tort and the enclosure to help you out until you can get other proper supplies. @Tom @Yvonne G hopefully an expert will help you. Please post the pictures.

Cathie G

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Lancaster
It's wonderful that you are trying to help this little Russian. I'm sure with the help you'll get here you'll get him up to speed. Since he's eating and stuff even though changes will be needed they are a pretty hardy little tortoise. Yours just moved to a new home and it's the time of year when they are sluggish so the fact that he's doing anything is probably a good sign. I have a little Russian so take heart and have fun and best wishes to you and your new Russian. Welcome and welcome to what's his name ??

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA