Sulcata tortoise newbie here. Need some advice

craig655321

Location (City and/or State)
New Jersey
Hello everyone I need some advice as a new Sulcata tortoise owner. I have a hatchling which arrived on Tuesday. Since then the tortoise has been sleeping a lot. He has not eaten at all and I offer him food everyday Celantro, carrots, papaya, mixed vegetables and fruits. Could it be that he is eating at night? He pooped yesterday and then two days before that. Today was the first day he drank water and he drank ALOT.
I have him in a 20 gallon long terrarium, with cypress mulch, the warm side is about 93 but gets up to 100 and about 80 on the cooler side during the day. At night it drops down to about 90 on the warm side and 75 on the cooler side. I have a 150w heat emitter, an exo terra 150w UVB bulb and another smaller UVB bulb that also emanates heat all on the warm side. No heat source or UVB lighting on the cool side. I attached some pics of my setup. Am I just being overly worried or do I need to worry? Him drinking water today was a good sign

5D1B4EF4-39BA-4948-9744-CD641FAAF921.jpegD4461405-D690-4A74-AA01-8FDAF06BC3BA.jpeg

Maggie3fan

5 Year Member
PacificNorthWest
You need to treat that tortoise like a baby, because he is one. He's confused and scared. He's pooping so that means he's eaten some time. I think for a hatchling Sulcata the cool side is too cool at night. He needs to be soaked DAILY for about 30 minutes. He needs a humid hide, find out from the breeder what he fed the baby. And he will settle down once he see's nothing is gonna eat him up. Read that care sheet that Maro2Bear gave you. Please continue to ask questions

craig655321

New Jersey