Sulcata Newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tank the great

5 Year Member
Hey everyone, I'm a total newbie so I might need a few tips. I just got a month old sulcata this weekend from the Anaheim Reptile show. Not quite sure if its a girl or boy obviously so I named him/her Tank. Very strong and built like a tank so I thought it was fitting. I have fallen in love already and want to do my best to care for Tank so any helpful hints would be appreciated. I have Tank in a 20 gal with a UVB and heat lamp (although the temp gauge inside the tank only says 97•F) and the bedding is peer moss and alfalfa hay. Not super fancy so far. ImageUploadedByTortForum1379972837.712855.jpg

My mistake...the temp inside is only 87F

And peet moss!..(my iPhone is killing me with auto correct!) Sorry.

My pet store suggested Alfalfa pellet substrate? They say its easiest to clean and good for Oder control. I know that bedding is somewhat of a hot topic but does anyone agree/disagree with the alfalfa pellets?

Last edited by a moderator:

Dizisdalife

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
California
Welcome to the Forum. There is a lot of good information here written byexperienced keepers and breeders alike. I have one, 3-1/2 year old sulcata that I got when he was still a baby. They grow fast. It takes continued learning to stay ahead of their needs. Without the people here on the Forum I would have failed a long time ago. For example: the tank you have will be too small in a few months. You will want to start now planning his next enclosure. You will need it about Christmas time or soon afterward. You may want to start reading the Enclosure section for ideas. Sulcata's need to stay warm at night too. That single lamp that you have will not keep the temps where they need to be at night. About 80F is the general recommendation. A ceramic heat emitter (CHE) is one way to get warmth and darkness for your young tortoise.