Substrate is very wet

Kothy

Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Connecticut
I'm new to this, I have two Cherry heads, in separate black tubs, I have the forest floor substrate, and each tub has a zoo med humidifier. It goes 24/7. I noticed since I have screen cover over the tubs to keep in the humidity everything is very wet on the side with the humidifier. Is this supposed to be like this. Humidity is 80-86% and higher. The baby's seem to like it, but it seems very wet to me.

Blackdog1714

5 Year Member
Richmond, VA
Have you read the red foot care guide under South American Tortoises? It recommends high humidity for young torts.

Kothy

Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
Connecticut
Then I guess I'm doing right, it is Very humid in there tubs

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Open topped tubs don't work. Humidifiers shouldn't be needed or used. Wet substrate isn't good for any species, but RFs are particularly susceptible to shell rot on the plastron in wet conditions.

You need a closed chamber enclosure. Like these:

A closed chamber makes it easy to maintain optimal excellent conditions for your tortoises. High humidity with dry substrate and no humidifier putting water vapor in the air they breathe.

Kothy

Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
Connecticut
Ok, now I’m mixed up. I can afford two new set ups. My simple question is how do I raise the humidity of I don’t use the humidifier? Please help. I have covers, screens to cover the tubs. If I don’ t use the steamer, what do I do. I have the basking light, and the heat lamp you recommended . What do I do to bring up the humidity? Other than buying another enclosed. What about the wooden tortoise houses?

Kothy

Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
Connecticut
Also, I live in Connecticut, it is very dry here. Please help

Toddrickfl1

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Ga