Substrate for African Sulcata??? HELP!

JRColeman

Location (City and/or State)
Maricopa Arizona
I have a question and hope someone can help...when I got my new hatchling, I was told to put rabbit pellets down as a substrate. I was told to change it to coconut coir. My exotic pet store did not carry that. So, the lady that owns the store said I could use Desert Blend ground English walnut shells. Is this feasible? He is around 3 wks old? Anyone????

Jennica

I am fairly new to this as well. Have had my sully for 2 months. I havent heard of the walnut.

Jennica

Ive read on here not to use sand like substrate because if they eat it it could compact them.

tortoisetime565

Oklahoma
Hey JRColeman and welcome.

I use coco coir also called Eco Earth. You can acquire it at any pet smart or Petco. It comes in bricks and bags of loose substrate. I would avoid the walnut shells due to their sand texture. You can also buy organic dirt from a home store. miracle grow makes a organic dirt it is $8 a bag at Lowes. Its very nice I've used it many times.

You can also use coco chips which is basically bark chucnks. Again. Organic. You should read up on Toms Sulcata posts on the forum! Happy torting!

Cowboy_Ken

10 Year Member!
Kingman, Arizona
That ground walnut shell is covered with shape edges! Stay away from it! Warning Warning . Take some and rub on the inside part of your elbow. You'll get it then. After think of what would happen to your tortoises innards when it is ingested! Little razor blades.

JRColeman

Maricopa Arizona
That ground walnut shell is covered with shape edges! Stay away from it! Warning Warning . Take some and rub on the inside part of your elbow. You'll get it then. After think of what would happen to your tortoises innards when it is ingested! Little razor blades.
It is gone! And Aamir is happy, I called and spoke to a reptile vet and she told me what to use! Thank you!

Dizisdalife

10 Year Member!
California