Some advice needed

Daniel Freel

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
New Jersey
Hello all, my name is Dan I'm new to this forum and to owning my 2 new sulcata hatchlings. I am experienced in owning other reptiles such as ball pythons, eastern box turtles. So im not a complete newb to reptiles but definitely new to tortoises. I can't figure out how to post pics but here's how i have my temporary indoor enclosure set up. Last week I recieved 2 sulcata hatchlings from Kamp Kenan(healthy tortoises and very professional guy), they are about a month old. I currently have them housed in a 40 gallon breeder tank. I have a 160 watt mercury vapor bulb to produce heat and proper uv during the day at about 18 inches above the enclosure, temps have been around 100° in basking spot. I also have a 150 watt ceramic heat emitter next to the mvb set to 100°F during the day and 90°F during the night. The che is connected to a zoo med hygrotherm humidity and temperature controller (thermostat). I have about 85% of the enclosure top sealed with plexiglass glass to help with humidity levels(not under the che or the mvb). I have been researching the repti-fogger to help with humidity but not sure if I'm sold on that yet or would rather prefer to make my own out of a cool mist humidifier. I do a misting with a spray bottle 2-3 times a day once I see the humidity drops under 60% on my hygrometer. Any opinions on repti fogger VS a cool mist humidifier? Either way I go it will be connected thru my hygrotherm thermostat. I am using organic soil as my base substrate with repti-bark on top. They also have 2 under tank heaters, the larger rated for a 55 gallon tank is located on the cooler side under the tank where their half log hide is located(stays in upper 70s in their hide). The smaller one rated for a 10 gallon tank is located on the side of the tank on the hot side of the tank right by the top 3 inches of their substrate. I am using 2 terra cotta dishes for food and water. I purcha