Soil sticking to my tortoise feet!!!

Khaleo

5 Year Member
Hi everyone so I'm new to the tortoise world and I have tried my best to do research to give Leo the best life he can have with me! He is a Russian tortoise by the way.

I built him my own tortoise table which is 4x2 feet and has two hideouts and a food and water dish. He currently only has a day light right now I'm saving up to buy a UVB light for him and other necessities. My main concern right now is that the organic top soil that I got is sticking to his feet!! Is this okay?? I squeezed it to make sure no water dripped out and it didn't fall apart. It holds it shape very well, but is this gonna be an issue? I just put him in his home today because when my parents got him he was in a 20 gallon tank for about a week until I could go out and get the materials. He kept running into the glass so I wanted to get him into his new home very fast! Please help!!! And thank you for any advice that is given I appreciate it! ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1451774588.290406.jpg

leigti

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
southeast Washington
Yep, tortoises get dirty. They like it that way :) you can get large pebbles or pieces of slate tiles and put them all around the water and food dishes to keep some of the dirt out of the dishes. From your picture, I would suggest putting the bowl deeper into the soil so that your tortoise doesn't have to climb around or in it.

Lyn W

5 Year Member
UK
Hi and welcome.
Yes they are mucky pups! It doesn't matter how nicely you prepare their food they will just walk straight through the middle of it!

Where are you located? I ask because unless you are somewhere warm where your tort can get uvb from some time out in the sun then you need to get a uvb lamp as soon as possible. Torts need uvb to help them digest food and absorb calcium and other nutrients which will prevent them from getting sick.