Sick sulcata - advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

kimber_lee_314

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
So Cal
I was asked to foster a sick sulcata for a while. I agreed and went to pick him up today. Oh my! This little one is horribly pyramided and very, very, ill! He's on Baytril, and the vet said he needs to be wormed, but she couldn't get his head out to worm him. I think we agreed that it's not looking good for him. I have a lot of experience with sick tortoises, but I've never dealt with a sulcata. I will give him the baby food soaks, but since he's bigger I wonder if I should use canned pumpkin? How hot should he be kept (keeping in mind that he is not moving at all!)? How many times a day should he be soaked? (I don't like to soak the desert species too much.) Any other advice on how to help this little one would be much appreciated.

M

Maggie Cummings

Soak him once a day for about an hour if he is holding his head up. Put a light over the container to keep the water warm and use strained carrots or squash. How big is he? Maybe you want to use a whole jar. Keep his ambient temp about 85 with a basking spot of 95 to 100.
Post a pix and tell me how much he weighs. You might want to hold him, is he eating? Feed him the same as a CDT.

kimber_lee_314

10 Year Member!
So Cal
He is not holding his head up - I can't even get my hands around his head - it's so far back in the shell. Is it still safe to soak him? He is about the size of my ibera's, but I haven't weighed him yet. He is not eating, and from what I hear he has not eaten in a very long time. I will post a pic when my hubby comes home with the camera.

Tony the tank

5 Year Member
Like Maggie says.. Soak him...and keep him warm.. I keep my sick torts at 90*F

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Las Vegas, NV
If you soak him in a container just have it at an incline to keep his head out the water if he wont stick it out.. Poor little guy..

kimber_lee_314

10 Year Member!
So Cal
Laura said: