Should I hibernate at 3 years old?

Status
Not open for further replies.

qweny

5 Year Member
I have 2 new hermann tortoises that will become 3 in September, I bought them less than a week ago and they must have been fed higher protein food at the pet shop. They are both large and one is overweight with the female at a size of 11.6cm and weighing 275g and the male at 10.5cm and a weighing 225g.

I am not sure if I should hibernate them since I live in the uk and we have a cool climate which will affect the tortoises, but I only recently got them and they may have not settled in in time for hibernation or may not be completely healthy.

I am worried I may not hibernate them properly as I have no experience hibernating animals and I do not want them to go to sleep and never wake up! :(

Can anyone suggest what I would do? If I should hibernate them, can anyone suggest a temperature to do so( I heard 5 degrees Celsius is appropriate)? Also how long should I hibernate these young tortoises for? How do I prepare them for hibernation?

Thanks, any suggestions or personal experience will be greatly appreciated!

GBtortoises

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
The Catskill Mountains of New York State