Shell not smooth

Alpha752

Location (City and/or State)
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
I am new to tortoises, but I love reading and learning about them. I just got Henry my Russian Tortoise about a month ago. He was a gift and was purchased from a chain pet store, so I am sure he was wild caught and not well taken care of. I have been working to get him well fed and hydrated since then. I am a little concerned because his shell is not smooth in the back, it is kind of concave along his spine, and some of the scoots are raised in the back. There is no pyramiding, although I think that is rare is Russians anyway. What do you think?
5315bbce1263843be8a9b230a12d44ba.jpg
c827e2142dc00e7498600257c79a1282.jpg

SarahChelonoidis

5 Year Member
Toronto, Canada
I agree, he really doesn't look bad. Quite large tubercules on the side of his tail - look more like spurs than I typically see on Russians.

Alpha752

Cleveland, Ohio, USA
I agree, he really doesn't look bad. Quite large tubercules on the side of his tail - look more like spurs than I typically see on Russians.
I noticed that also. I don discount the possibility that he was misidentified, but he looks like a Russian overall, so I am not sure.

Glad to hear that he is ok, and it's nothing to be worried about.

Alpha752

Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Here he is. He wasn't too thrilled at this impromptu photo session lol

Can you help guess age? I'm thinking about a year??? I am a large adult male if my hand gives size reference.

325f6a15003f253e45f8ebbe4127b3df.jpg
9b5afbdb06f1332b32fde614f7ef1441.jpg
f070edbe4426e5292a01dddcaaec6b4d.jpg

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
Your tort is considerably older than one year. US pet store chains sell wild caught Russians. Age is anyone's guess, unless you know a hatch date, as they all grow at different rates and those raised in the wild tend to grow slower than those in captivity.

WithLisa

5 Year Member
Austria