seeking LOTS of (Home's?) hingeback help & advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

ErinB

5 Year Member
Hello! First off, I read through the guidelines and everything, but I'm still not sure I'm posting to the correct place... please let me know if I'm in the wrong place or anything!

Basically, I'm a college student home for the summer, and I am very concerned about my youngest brother's hingeback tortoise. We believe she is a she, and she was purchased from a pet store about 8-10 years ago. I'm not sure which kind of hingeback she is, even after looking through the forums, but I'm thinking a Home's that has been kept in too dry a climate for far too long.

My biggest concern is her feet. I brought her to the vet today to have her nails cut (I was worried they would bleed if I did it myself, but they didn't end up bleeding at all). Her nails grow almost sideways, and were almost at the point where they were trying to grow into her skin. She is kept on 'reptibark' wood chips in an aquarium, but I don't know what substrate has been used in the past. Would a deeper, more dirt-like substrate be better for her? Does anyone by any chance have a video of a hingeback walking, so that I could compare it to her gait? I could also take a video of her movement - it seems to me like she almost drags her back legs.

She also gets scabs on her neck on occasion, which I believe is a result of dry climate and a poor diet. The vet gave me a 1% silver sulfadiazine cream, which has helped in the past. She also has a spot on her shell right along the hinge that appears flaky/scaly, and the vet advised using the cream on this as well because it at the very least can't hurt while we try to figure out what is happening. I attached a picture, but I forgot to take it before putting the cream on so it just mostly looks white. Again, I suspect she just isn't getting enough water.