Russian's shell...is she pyramiding?

Kimberly Erickson

Hey guys! So I'm relatively new to tortoise keeping and I've read about pyramiding. I adopted my tortoise from PetCo where her diet wasn't exactly stellar and she was riddled with worms....I've had her for a year and a half and just recently she has had a huge growth spurt, and now she has a large growth ring around her shell. Her scales aren't growing up like they are pyramiding, but I thought I'd ask someone who has kept reptiles for awhile and see if they knew. She's going to the vet the second week of March.20170216_185524.jpg

Attachments

• 20170216_185527.jpg
    20170216_185527.jpg
    4 MB · Views: 84
  • 20170216_185530.jpg
    20170216_185530.jpg
    3.9 MB · Views: 71

KevinGG

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Santa Cruz, CA
Russians dont typically pyramid. They can become deformed due to improper care and diet. Yours looks fine to me. Just some new growth.

Personally, I dislike repticarpet, especially for Russians. They are a burrowing species and carpet removes the possibility for this natural behavior.

What does the diet your feeding consist of?

What are your enclosure specs (lights, size, temps, etc)?

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
That shell looks typical of a Russian and in pretty good shape :)

Why are you going to the vet? Personally I would advise against unless there is concern.

Have you read the TFO care sheets for Russians? They're welcome by species experts working hard to correct the outdated information widely available on the internet and from pet stores and, sadly, from some vets and breeders too.

Beginner Mistakes
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/

Russian Tortoise Care
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/russian-tortoise-care-sheet.80698/

Gillian M

5 Year Member
Jordan
Hi @Kimberly Erickson and a very warm welcome to the forum.

Your gorgeous tort looks nice and healthy - nothing to worry about.