Russian won’t stop scratching!

fizzgig

Location (City and/or State)
New York City
Hi there. Newbie here. Have a 14 yo female Russia, 7”, who won’t stop scratching her enclosure. She’s in a 6’ x 3’ enclosure, plain soil & orchid moss, and she’s regularly walked. It is driving us crazy; small apartment, many animals, just can’t leave her out all the time and the terrace won’t be a viable space for much longer. Can’t do a larger enclosure than what we have — got a big coffin looking box taking up lots of our living room as it is!

Am ready to rehome her and would rather not. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Sleppo

5 Year Member
Philadelphia, PA
Hi

The reason she is doing this is that you let her see that there is a world outside of her enclosure, she will continue to try to get out of what you have her in they are very persistent. Russians need a very large indoor enclosure (minimum of 8' x 4') and it is beneficial to have an even larger one outdoor for when the weather is nice. They should never been given run of your house either, there are too many horror stories of what can happen with that. Below is the care sheet if you can't meet the requirements it may be best to rehome. Good luck.

fizzgig

New York City
Hi

The reason she is doing this is that you let her see that there is a world outside of her enclosure, she will continue to try to get out of what you have her in they are very persistent. Russians need a very large indoor enclosure (minimum of 8' x 4') and it is beneficial to have an even larger one outdoor for when the weather is nice. They should never been given run of your house either, there are too many horror stories of what can happen with that. Below is the care sheet if you can't meet the requirements it may be best to rehome. Good luck.