Russian Tort in Las Vegas

Status
Not open for further replies.

Comrad Turtles "grandma"

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
las Vegas, NV
Okay, so I am new to the whole tortoise world. I have tried to do the best I can since my daughter got Comrad Turtle (I know it's not original but he's Russian and a boy...so :D) for Christmas. I know I haven't done the ideal thing yet, but am slowly getting things better for him.

His "bedroom" as I have called it is in a Rubbermaid container, with a mixture of sand and pea gravel (I know it's not the best but will work for now - he previously had alfalfa pellets as his substrate), he has a large flat rock under his basking light & his hidey hole is under the basking rock. He has a nice soaking dish and I feed him for 20 minutes each morning (a mix of spinach, green leaf lettuce, green beans, an occasional carrot, sweet poatato and apple as well as "turtle food pellets"- I found he really enjoys the carrot, sweet pototato & apple but did read it should only be given occassionally), and then let him run around the house with me, or cuddle with me on the couch in my blanket.

Today was his first adventure outside. I started him on the patio table and his towel until he got used to the idea. I then made sure the 2 escape routes from my backyard were blocked and then I let him roam. He stayed right next to the house and sun bathed :cool:

He had his first bathing/soaking adventure that we did for him yesterday and he seemed pretty happy. He only stayed in there for about 10-15 mintues before trying to figure out how to scale the sides of his "bathtub". He has self soaked before as well.