Russian/Redfoot in NOVA/DC area

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chelonian

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Virginia and DC
First things first. I will not ship. No way, no how. Please don’t ask. I’m sure you can find one similar in your own area.

I would like to rehome two tortoises that I acquired two years ago. One is a female Russian and one is a male Redfoot.

Because I work with animals for a living, people always want to give me their unwanted animals. I usually say no and try to direct them to a rescue or another helpful source. I couldn’t turn these guys away. Both came to me in 20 gallon long aquariums without a UVB light source and eating turtle pellets from the pet store. The Redfoot was on wood chips and the Russian was on crushed walnut. Sad.

I prefer to give these guys to someone who is already a tortoise owner. I prefer to give these guys to someone who owns a house and can give them a proper set-up for all four seasons. If you are a contributing member of this forum then I assume you know how to properly care for both species of tortoise.

Please live in the Northern Virginia/DC area. I work in DC at a fairly prominent zoo (I’m sure you can figure which one out). I can meet you somewhere between DC and Fredericksburg, VA.

I am charging a fee for both to keep away flippers. I also require proof of current tortoise ownership and what kind of set-up you plan to offer. People who take the time to tell me about themselves and their tortoise experience go to the front of the line.

I have been keeping turtles and tortoises for 28 years. I am going to be picky on who ultimately adopts these guys. That being said, I am not going to make this an excruciating experience. If you have any questions please PM me. Thanks. Eric.

IMG_1538.jpg

Josh

Ask questions, share answers, talk torts!
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Redlands, CA
re-opened at request of the OP

Chelonian

5 Year Member
Virginia and DC