Russian habitat inside African enclosure

AZTgirl

Location (City and/or State)
Apache Junction, Arizona
Hello all...I am new to owning tortoises and appreciate all I have learned on this site. The photo below shows the habitat we built for our new, 3yr old African Sulcata, MissT. A few weeks after we got her, we also acquired a Russian. I learned enough to know not to let them interact/live in the same habitat so we had Tank (the Russian) in a different part of the yard. However, the place we had him in initially was infested with black ants so I built the inner enclosure you see marked below and he now lives inside (but not with) MissT. We are in AZ and one of the main reasons we did this was to take advantage of the shade and tree in her area.

Long term, what are the issues that housing them this close together is likely to cause? I am very careful when I work with them (soaking and feeding)...I rinse my hands between working with each one...I don't dump the Russian's soak water in the African's habitat area...of course I do not let them see each other or interact in any way. Thanks for any feedback.

Screen Shot 2019-06-18 at 6.58.36 PM.png

Cowboy_Ken

10 Year Member!
Kingman, Arizona
Every thing y’all are doing sounds perfect. Keep up the sanitary activities y’all are doing and this should be fine. Sometimes one or the other will burrow under the fence line so you’ll need to keep an eye on that.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome.

You might not win the award for the most bio-secure enclosure set up of the year, but I think this should be fine. I'd be comfortable with a set up like this, and it sound like you are well aware of the risks and what you can do to mitigate them.

Beautiful enclosure by the way. I'd love to see more pics and learn how you built that awesome wall.

AZTgirl

Apache Junction, Arizona
Thank you, Tom and Cowboy Ken...