Rescued Tortoise's Poo

Travillion93

I hope this isn't too graphic. On other reptile forums that I belong to it is common to see people posting pictures of their reptile's poo to receive feedback on it's appearance.
Since I am new to tortoises and my little lad is a rescue, I thought I should take a photo of his most recent bowel movement and post it here to see if there might be any concerns. He has been with me for just two days now. While he was at the rescue he had only had one bowel movement and it was not pleasant and quite small. This one was a little bit bigger and more 'compact.'
Thanks for looking and I apologize if I ruined anyones appetite!

Travillion93

Sorry I didn't mean to post this thread twice, not sure why that happened. If you post responses in this one it would be appreciated. Thank you!

Travillion93

It's rather small. Twice daily soaks and lots of leafy greens needed!

Thank you for your response. The little tort is 2.5" long by 2" wide, very small and young. The poop was about 1.5cm's in diameter. I give the tortoise a warm baby food bath in the morning followed by a warm water bath in the later afternoon. He/she has constant access to spring mix and dandelion greens. I have not seen him/her eat however I assume they must have considering it pooped this morning. Are there any vegetables or fruits that might encourage a larger appetite? I have read that mushrooms, banana, mango and sweet potato can be good ones. If this is true, how should I go about feeding it to a tortoise this small? Ground up, shredded, mushed, whole? Also keep in mind that it's eyes are closed 80-90% of the day, only ever opening for a short while after the warm baths.

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Kent, South East England
What species are we talking here? Sorry if I don't pick up your reply until later; I live in the UK and so it's bedtime. I will come back to this if the USA "night shift" don't :)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin