rescued tortoise--help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

S_Owings

5 Year Member
Hi,

Nice to find this forum. My name is Sarah and I am a kindergarten teacher, dog trainer, and animals lover. I currently care for 11 rabbits, 1 iguana, 2 dogs...and now a Russian tortoise named Sugar--which we rescued from someone who was just going to let her loose because they didn't want her anymore. (Can you believe it?)

From the iguana I've learned all about how important it is to research your reptiles in order to give them good care. So here I am doing all the research on tortoises as fast as I can.

Sugar, the tortoise, seems happiest outside toodling around in our very large rabbit pen--but it's been getting very cold lately and we've had rains and flooding in California. So I tried to bring her inside and put her in a temporary 4' x2' box. She's got her hide, a pan of water, shredded newspaper substrate (for the time being because it's all I have), a temporary heat light borrowed from the iguana, a heating pad at night (under the box), and soon I'll get her a UV bulb too if she stays inside very long. However, I don't want to keep her inside much because she seems just miserable! She claws the sides of the box all day long. My mom says I shouldn't leave the light on for her because it is winter and she should be hibernating...But I've been reading posts on this list and many people don't recommend hibernating new and possibly underweight tortoises. So I don't know what to do.

She seems really confused and stressed. She has been eating a little bit, however. Dandelion greens, mixed greens, hibiscus and mulberry leaves.

What more should I do for her? Should she be inside in artificial warmth or outside in the natural light and cold? Any suggestions would be most appreciated.

Thanks! :)

--Sarah

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
CA