Rescued baby DT update, 18 mos

MoreCowbellAz

Location (City and/or State)
Phoenix, Az
I’ve been AWOL for awhile, Some of you may recall I rescued an orphan and lost baby DT back in September 2019 and I came to this forum in a panic crash course to learn how to care for him and provide a good home. I peppered everyone with questions on everything from diet, lighting, and even constructed and expanded PVC enclosure for him last May. I knew nothing about caring for a tortoise, and I learned a ton that’s for sure with the help of many of the folks on this forum.

Im happy to report that baby DT, now called Charlee, is healthy and thriving. Since I’ve had him he’s grown from slightly larger than a quarter to roughly the size of the palm of my hand. In the pictures below you can see The difference between current vs back on the day I rescued him. Or her.

i’m still learning and trying to perfect her habitat as she grows, but so far so good. enjoy the pics!

9E2CFD84-08E0-4746-A759-14F5F2240911.jpeg568BD90E-2184-44FC-AB3A-30C23154CF4F.jpegAAA2A2B3-8DE1-40C6-87DD-04FF3F464EBD.jpeg

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Great work!

I see so many DT stories that don't end well. It brings me great happiness to see one thriving, growing and healthy. Thanks for posting.

MoreCowbellAz

Phoenix, Az