"Reliability" of temperature sex determination

Status
Not open for further replies.

Redari

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Alberta, Canada
Hello!

I have been thinking about this for awhile, and am curious about people's experiences.

Do most breeders practice temperature sex determination with their eggs, and if so, how reliable is it? How often do they end up being the 'wrong' sex?

Appreciate your thoughts :)

Thanks!
:tort::tort::tort:

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
I have no experience with eggs. Just what I have read is 50%. People that have actually done it might have better odds.

tortadise

10 Year Member!
Tropical South Texas
Depends on species. Elegans and platynota have proven TSD results. Most o will say probably incubate right at the thresholds temperature so could go either way. Also depends on night drops. That can lower your average temp and alter TSD goals.

GBtortoises

10 Year Member!
The Catskill Mountains of New York State
TSD does work to some extent with temperate species of tortoises and turtles. But there is no concrete assurance that by incubating the eggs to produce female or male will guarantee 100% of either. However, by specifically incubating for either it should produce a predominate number of that gender. In most cases in captivity accurate data is difficult to obtain. This is due to the fact that breeders don't keep hatchlings long enough to reach an age that their gender can be positively determined. So buyer feedback has to often be relied upon and is never 100% complete or even accurate. For most species not enough accurate data has been collected from the wild either.