Red spots on tortoise shell

Loffredom

Hey guys. I am fairly new to keeping tortoises and noticed some red spots on my female Russian Tortoises shell just recently. They seem to be bloody and to be developing around a growth ring on the shell. She does not appear to be distressed or in any sort of pain. She is eating fine and eats a lot as well. I keep her housed with a male Russian about the same size and they seem to get along and mind their own business. I have a cuddle bone in the box (which I very rarely see them eat, if ever) and I feed them a lot of different varieties of leafy greens from dandelion greens, chicory, kale, escarole, watercress, and more. I have tried to feed them a powdered calcium supplement in the past but the white turns them off from eating. I also have a full spectrum UV bulb lighting the tank and try to soak them at least once a week. Does anyone have any idea what this could be? Is it serious?

image1.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:

G-stars

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
"I keep her housed with a male Russian about the same size and they seem to get along and mind their own business"

That looks like blood to me, and I would bet that it had something to do with that male. You need to separate them ASAP. At least until you rule out aggression. Which is very likely the case here.

russian/sulcata/tortoise

5 Year Member
Northern California, bay area
welcome to the forums! your torts NEED to be separated, one day you will come home to one of them missing an arm or an eye. tortoises are not social animals they do not do well in pairs. think the blood is caused by them being too dry, they deep moist substrate, soaks multiple times a week and access to water at all times. the reason they are not eating is because they are too stressed out to go look for the food. read this entire care sheet. can you post some enclosure pics? also if you have anymore questions just ask.