Red ear slider newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

desmondband

5 Year Member
Hi i'm new here! i adpot 2 Red ear slider few days back! :)

have some question to ask.. how deep my tank should be? currently is 4 cm deep, enough for them to lift up his head for some air..

seems like my turtle doesn't eat.. i feeding them sticks food.. it is ok? normal?

what other things i need to take care of?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Desmond:

Are you in Australia? Welcome to the forum! I have a few red ears, but they live outdoors in a pond. I'm not really an expert on keeping them indoors, but I'll try to help you.

Red ear sliders are called semi-aquatic turtles. They swim very well, and should be kept in enough water to allow them to swim. Also, if they are in shallow water, should they get tipped over on their back, they might not be able to get themselves turned over. So, with two of them, you would need a larger tank to allow for this.

I don't know how big your turtles are, but if they have any size to them, a 50 gallon tank might not be big enough. If they are babies still, you can get by with maybe a 20 gallon. Then you want to fill it halfway full and provide a dock or landing area where they can climb out of the water and dry off completely. You provide a lamp that shines on the dock and simulates the sun. They sit there and warm up so they can digest their food.

Water turtles have to be submerged in order to swallow their food. If they won't eat pellets, then try offering some live food...worms, bugs, grasshoppers, etc. Red ears will also eat water plants and vegetables. I've even seen one eat banana once.

Good luck with your little turtles. Hope I've given you some help.

Yvonne

Rhyno47

5 Year Member
Hagerstown, MD