Question for a Vet Tech

Status
Not open for further replies.

mira_kaylee

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Mid-Missouri
Hey guys, so I graduated from my local high school on May 20th of 2012 and after graduating I decided to take a small breather from school for awhile to figure out what I wanted to do with my life. Well, I have made up my very hesitant mind and as such have decided that I want to become a Veterinary Technician. Only problem is that I don't know where to go to get my degree and I don't know how to afford it without taking out some major loans, which I am trying to avoid. I was hoping that perhaps someone on the tortoise forum would be a Veterinary Technician and could help me by telling me about their experiences in getting an education, give me any advice and recommend schools. I'd prefer to do online schooling and any college must be accredited by the AVMA (American Veterinary Medical Association). Before anyone disagrees with my decision to do online schooling you should know that I looked around and there are no actual campus' nearby that are accredited by the AVMA. That leaves either a fortune in gas money, which I can't afford, or online classes. I choose online classes lol. Preemptive thank you's for all replies!

(p.s. I have been looking at San Juan College and Cedar Valley College for the most part because they have better reviews and are relatively not as expensive.)

tortadise

10 Year Member!
Tropical South Texas
The best start is to work at a vet. I got my RVA through working at the vet I had previously worked for years back. Its much faster and better experience too. Took about a year to get CVA and then another 2 years for the RVA.

Len B

10 Year Member!
Southern Md - Northern Neck Va