Preserving: Canning, Dehydrating, And Freezing Foods

waretrop

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
NE Pa. Zone 5
I have been preserving foods in my house for 40 years. I don't have much freezer space so I try to can and dehydrate as much as I am able to.

I would love to can things for my sully, Alice, but I don't believe it will be possible. I can get cactus pads, dandylion, collards,mustard, aloe most of the year here in Pa. I am going to try to can orchard grass soon. I don't get that in stores at all. I have frozen grape leaves and put them in a food saver bag. Works great but i didn't put up enough for all winter. Nest year I will but that is frozen. I will can some next summer also.

As far as people food I think I have it all covered.

My freezer:
freezer2.jpg

My pantry
1231131857c.jpg

1231131857.jpg

1231131858.jpg

1020130820.jpg lime peel that I froze some and dehydrated some.

motero

10 Year Member!
Arizona
We like to can also, Apple sauce is one of our favorites, We will be doing 30 or 40 quarts in the next week or so. Also Tomato sauce, two summers ago I grew 100 tomato plants. Harvested over 500lbs of tomato and boiled it down into 70 quarts of nice thick sauce. Best tasting tomato sauce ever.

waretrop

5 Year Member
NE Pa. Zone 5
Nice.... I have a couple of bushels of apples this year and will make applesauce. That is just to replace what we have used.... When I plant tomatoes I do about 80 plants. This next spring I will do that, growing them in the greenhouse at first. Try siphoning the water off at first on the tomatoes so you don't have to cook them down so long. The more you cool them the more nutrition they loose. The clear water I can separately so you can use it as water when cooking rice or things like that.1011131746.jpg

It still has some nutritional value. I do that with pineapple and mushroom water also.