Please, please help identify the species of my friend's new tortoise

Status
Not open for further replies.

friendofnewtortoiseowner

5 Year Member
Hello to the forum, I made this account so that I could find out what species is my friend's new tortoise. I have no special knowledge about these things and my friend isn't the type to join a forum. I don't think this poor tortoise is going to get the right diet until we know what species it is. I am posting a picture. Any knowledgeable replies will be very, very appreciated.

note: the red circle around the shell was painted by the previous owner, not my friend (I mean I think that's paint, and not natural, right??)

Attachments

• DSCN4101.JPG
    DSCN4101.JPG
    790.6 KB · Views: 169

immayo

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Mesa, AZ
The only information I can offer you is that is most definitely some kind of turtle not a tortoise.

friendofnewtortoiseowner

5 Year Member
immayo said:
The only information I can offer you is that is most definitely some kind of turtle not a tortoise.

Can you say why? Do you mean it's an aquatic animal?? I thought it would've had webbed feet if it was aquatic. Why do you think it's not a tortoise?

yagyujubei

5 Year Member
Amish Country
Because of the back feet. I want to say that it's a type of box turtle. Can we see more pictures? One from the top and one from the bottom. The red looks like magic marker, I wouldn't be concerned, it'll wear or wash off.
friendofnewtortoiseowner said:
immayo said:

Can you say why? Do you mean it's an aquatic animal?? I thought it would've had webbed feet if it was aquatic. Why do you think it's not a tortoise?

friendofnewtortoiseowner

5 Year Member
yagyujubei said:
Because of the back feet. I want to say that it's a type of box turtle. Can we see more pictures? One from the top and one from the bottom. The red looks like magic marker, I wouldn't be concerned, it'll wear or wash off.
immayo said: