please id my new find

Status
Not open for further replies.

scallopking

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
i need help, what kind is this? any on how to care for it would be great. debating on keeping or giving to a rescue place. it's out of hibernation today since it's warmer. probably 3', 60-70 lbs, a 80 rings something like that. how old is it? i'm a newbie at this.

[IMG=640x480]http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/8777/img2869ti2.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG=640x480]http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/6668/img2871ax0.jpg[/IMG]

i rescued this from my neighbors house that went into forclosure and they left it there. any help is appreciated. thanks!

JustAnja

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Arkansas
Where are you located? If you decide to place it in rescue please contact me if you are in the southeast as I can put you in contact with a friend in SC that does placement. Thanks for taking him/her in, that was very sweet of you.

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
yup.. that's sulcata.. big sulcata though.. :) nice to know that you rescue him/her.

scallopking

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
egyptiandan - thanks for the info. finally, get to know what kind it is. wow, only 10-15...that's funny i figured much, much older than that. i haven't read the lin yet, how do you tell if they are male or female?

JustAnja, sorry I am in southern california. i am an animal lover, so couldn't let that happen!

newbie, it is big. threw out my back the first time i carried it. thanks.

Larigh - i am probably about 3 hours away from you in north-west Los Angeles County. i just might take you up on your offer. i am trying to see if i can get in touch with local rescue chapter here, otherwise so far you are my only other alternative right now - i might not have any choice - have to wait and see.

by the way, the people next door also abandoned their dog too, that was rescued also. sheez.

so, realistally how hard is to keep one of these anyway?