Plans

Status
Not open for further replies.

tortoisefreak1

5 Year Member
I am thinking about getting a Russian Tortoise(Captive bred of course, not from the pet store)and I am new to tortoises.I have done research and here is my plan.I want to use a 50-gallon storage container with a shallow, large rubbermaid deli container as a water bowl so my tortoise can soak.I am planning on use a 50/50 mixture of play sand and topsoil as substrate and making it about 3 inches deep although i will make it deeper in the corners so he can burrow.I am gonna use a half log for a hide, a reptisun 10.0 for a uvb bulb and a 100-160 watt bulb for heat.I am also gonna take him out a few times a week to let him roam the house free.Does this sound good to you guys?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Tortoisefreak1:

Please take a moment to start a new thread in the "introductions" section and tell us a bit about yourself.

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

May we know your name and where you are?

If its at all possible, Russian tortoises do much better outside than in an indoor habitat. That should be their main home, with an indoor habitat to be secondary when the weather doesn't permit it to be outside.

Everything sounds ok to me except for the "roaming the house" portion. I'm not an advocate of that. No matter how warm your house is, its never warm enough on the floor for a cold blooded animal. Plus there are too many little things on the floor for him to try to eat and get into trouble with.

tortoisefreak1

5 Year Member
Yeah i had plans about building a simple outdoor pen but i was talking about here and now.I will take him outside under close supervison very often if i can't build it. Do you think it would be okay if i just leave him in the cage over the winter and put him in an outdoor pen during the warmer months?

chase thorn

10 Year Member!
Colorado Springs, CO