Picking the right Lizard

Status
Not open for further replies.

Avarice29

5 Year Member
I've been a member for a while.. I own 2 torts and 3 water turtles.. I love my lil guys but... lately whenever I go to my local pet smart/ petco stores... I find myself observing lizards.
I saw this white bearded dragon.. and I wanted to buy it.. but I am a complete novice with lizards. Here is a picture of one that looks like the one I saw at the store. White Bearded Lizard.jpg

I was wondering... if anyone has experience with lizards. Are bearded dragons a great starter pet?
I'm looking for a user friendly lizard that has excellent personality.
One that isn't too shy and wouldn't mind climbing up my arm...

Any advice? All advice is welcome of course.

Last edited by a moderator:

JeffG

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Arizona
Bearded dragons make excellent pets. Very easy to care for, and most tolerate handling well. The main negative to them in my opinion is the need to feed live insects. Crickets are a pain to deal with and can get pretty expensive.

Other than that, I think a BD would be a great choice for your first lizard. I am a bit biased, but I think bluetongue skinks are even better though. :cool:

Tim/Robin

10 Year Member!
Agreed. The big question is, crickets/roaches or lettuce/salads?

Avarice29

5 Year Member
Ahh well thats good to know :)
I... don't think il be comfortable picking up roaches... crickets are fine but not roaches >,<

Are bluetongues smaller than BD, or approx same size? I'm trying to get a small lizard for now.. i know it will grow but atleast for now i am wanting a smaller lizard

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Agreed I loved having my beardie. However, the live food is a pain. But they can eat crickets, roaches and all the worms they usually sell at pet stores. The lettuce doesn't come until they are older, but still needs the live food.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club