Welcome to the forum.

KarenSoCal

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Low desert 50 mi SE of Palm Springs CA
Hello, there, and welcome to the forum!
It's a small world...I lived in the York area for my first 50 years. For the last 20 of those years I lived just outside of Windsor. I'm a grad of D-town, class of 69. Now I'm sweltering in the low desert near Palm Springs, CA.

Have you thought about what species of tortoise you're getting? We can post a care sheet for you...you know what? I'm going to post the 2 main care sheets, one for sulcatas, leopards, and stars. The other is for most everything else except redfoot. We have a separate sheet for them.

Are you getting a hatchling or a juvenile or an adult? Regardless of which one, you want to have the enclosure set up and heat and lights running before you get your new friend.

Here they are...

Be really careful about advice you may get from pet stores, some vets, some breeders, and even many owners. Many of them have no clue how to properly keep a tortoise and will happily fill your ears with non-helpful, wrong, and sometimes dangerous opinions. If a pet shop wants you to buy something, just run it by us before you buy it. We don't want you to buy useless equipment.

And finally, realize that you are going to have a rather large enclosure, hopefully at least 4ft x 3ft and 2ft tall, with a solid lid. It should not sit on the floor.

The preparation and anticipation is so much fun! You're going to have a blast! :tort: ?

Moeckelianl

Dallastown