Outside Time

Status
Not open for further replies.

dbax85

5 Year Member
Hello all. I've been lurking for about a month and have found (and used) this forum's vast wealth of knowledge in setting up a home for Scout, my Russian tortoise I purchased from Petco during Black Friday sales after having wanted one for years. I named him after the main character in "To Kill a Mockingbird" (I am an English teacher afterall) It took some convincing for my wife to let me get him, but I eventually got her approval and she actually is enjoying him (Plus, she is the one that decided "Atticus" would be a weird name for a tortoise). I had to agree to find a new home for my classroom RES if I wanted to get a tortoise. The RES was getting too big for the tank I was able to provide him (10G) in the classroom, and carting water from the restroom into my classroom was a tough twice a week task. He became a nice Christmas present for another teacher's son. Scout is living in a Christmas tree tub in my office containing everything I've learned from this site to provide a great setup.

Now, my question is: I live in Lincoln, NE where typically it would be 10 degrees and with a foot of snow on the ground during this point in the year. The forecast tomorrow calls for 63 and sunny with the last of our "snow" melting weeks ago. Would it be safe to take Scout outside for some natural sunlight without messing him up? He would be going from his above 70 degree enclosure (90-95 under his light) into an outside climate. I would be observing him for the duration of his outside time. I don't want to accidentally send him into hibernation by dropping his temperature too much. Can I do this?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi dbax85:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

What would you like for us to call you?