novie

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Amy

I'm a tort novice but due to my partners love of the animal- I am trying to learn more! Can someone tell me if torts and turts tend to carry a lot of bacteria on their body like snakes- and if so, are they generally safe to be handled by children?

Crazy1

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Inland Empire, CA
Amy, Like any reptile turts and torts do carry bacteria and good - extra good hand washing techniques should be used especially by children (extra young should not touch:(). But like most anything children can be taught::DI have 5 grandchildren and they have learned from when they were small that when handeling any reptile you wash well. Don't put your hands in your mouth, eyes or nose and don't touch an open wound on you until after washing.

That being said now I have to teach my dogs. They like to lay down next to them and want to lick on my torts (sort of like a tort pop:p) so I have had to keep them seperated. Not that I would ever leave them alone with my torts.

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
My children might not remember to wash up before meals, but the hand washing after handling reptiles (and between them) did stick in their minds.:D They were always on the ball to teach any other children we were around like at demonstrations and things.

Almost every animal can and will carry disease and such. Even the food we eat has problems. I think having reptiles is a good way to remind us to do extra care with handling all animals and the food we eat. I know it does with me.

Just do reasonable things like supervision around the torts, not allowing especially little little ones around them alone, not allowing them to be treated like play toys. Don't allow the crawling around on the ground in the same areas the torts do.

Josh

Ask questions, share answers, talk torts!
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Redlands, CA