No adoption for me

mike rowlett

Hi everyone I regret to say that I will no longer be in the market for adopting a Sulcata . I did not foresee a problem that my wife seems to have with this. I am an over the road trucker and sometimes I'm out or as long as a month. Most of the time I am back within a week. I thought she would help me I had plans to make a tortoise yard so that they could run and play and chase butterflies if they wanted to LOL. I love this forum and I will continue to learn about these tortoises. I simply can't take the chance of them getting sick or dying because I wasn't home maybe one of these days I will be able to get One of my own . These are absolutely beautiful creatures and they need to be taken care of I hope everyone understands and keep up the good work thanks Mike from Texas

tortdad

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
NW Houston TX
Mike. If your wife has a problem with it then it's a no go but if you get an established adult and have an outside yard with heated night box it will be fine without you. Sulcatas eat grass and weeds. All you wife would need rondo is make sure it's not dead and fill a water dish a few times a week. It would be way simpler for her to sort of watch over the tort than it would be to don sit for someone. A baby would be a hole different ball of wax.

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco
Talk to her nicely, Mike.
Tell her it's you dream and that the work she'll have to do will be minimal.
Tell her about the chasing of butterflies and how beautiful sulcatas are.
Maybe she'll fall in love with torts too.
Worth a try.

mike rowlett