Newbie with shell rot questions, and pics

Status
Not open for further replies.

ReptiJenn

5 Year Member
Yep, another newbie here. I was referred by a member of a general reptile forum that I visit, and he suggested I try posting my question here where there are more tortoise experts.

Long story very short: I currently own an adult male redfoot tortoise. I have lots of exotic animal experience, but mostly with mammals, so I consider myself to still be a tortoise novice. I'd like to get him a companion, since red-foots are a social breed. However, adults redfoots are very scarce here, I've never seen one available aside from him. I have been offered an adult female, which would be great except I am concerend that she has 'shell rot' of some sort.

See the pictures below. There is one really deep, dark spot. The rest is along the scutes on the lower shell, along the edges, where they are soft and flaking. Otherwise the shell feels hard. The animal otherwise shows no health problems, eats well, toddles around, etc.

I need to get some advice before I purchase the tortoise... so I know what I am getting into. The nearest tortoise vet is several hour's drive away, so I would prefer to treat her myself if that is an option. (It should be noted that I do all my own mammal-vetting, dosing medicines, diagnosing, tooth-trimming, etc, etc. so I'm not totally new to the concept.)

Ok. So... what is wrong with this tort? Is it bacterial? Fungal? Contagious? Lethal? Permanently crippling (will it weaken her and make her susceptible to everything later in life?), What can be done? And anything else you can think of.

Also, am I correct in believing this is a female? (The tail is much shorter and blunter than on my male).

Thank you ALL in advance for any and all help rendered!

http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m203/RandomClutter/corn6.jpg
http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m203/RandomClutter/corn9.jpg
http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m203/RandomClutter/corn7.jpg