Newbie with no Tortoise experience :)

Jag00

Hi folks. Firstly let me start by saying I have zero experience with Tortoises. My family and I are currently living in a large residential compound in The Arabian Peninsula.

I recently almost ran over this little fellow...
IMG_3833.JPG

IMG_3834.JPG

He was busy running down the road on a part of the compound that is mostly desert.

A quick google confirmed that there are no native species in this part of the world, so I suspect he is an escaped pet or has been dumped by another family.

I have several questions to ask if I may.
1. Can anyone tell me what type of tortoise he/she is?
2. Given which type, can I get advice on what I should do with him/her? Keep him, return it to the desert etc?
3. Assuming the advice is to keep it, how should we treat it. Appropriate food, living conditions, temperature tolerances etc. ( currently it is hitting 41C at mid day, so it will be 50C ) and it will be very dry for the next 6 months.

Thanks for reading my post and for any advice you can give.

John

SarahChelonoidis

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Toronto, Canada
This is an aquatic turtle, so definitely don't return it to the desert. My aquatic id skills aren't great, so I can't say the species, but this is not a tortoise.

If you post a clear photo of the face and one of the underside (the plastron), an id will be easier.

Jag00

Thanks for the quick response Sarah.

Here's the best shot of his/her face I can get ( a little shy :) ) and the under belly.

IMG_3838.JPG IMG_3835.JPG

Jag00

@SarahChelonoidis assuming it is a Florida Chicken Turtle, what's the best living conditions/food? We have a large duck pond near the house that is landscaped and grassed with lots of shelter or a fully enclosed back yard.

SarahChelonoidis

5 Year Member
Toronto, Canada