Newbie looking for advice on supplementation

Karen(pebbles)

Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Bristol Uk
Hi everybody, I'm new to owning a year old Hermann tortoise, I've had him/her for 2 months now, I'm reading so much on here which has been a great help, but this morning I've noticed my tort trying to eat a large pebble in enclosure, maybe he/she mistakes it for food, I dust the food daily with calcium and vitamins so if anybody can help with this is be so grateful, many thanks, karen

KarenSoCal

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Low desert 50 mi SE of Palm Springs CA
Hello, Karen! From another Karen! ?

Sprinkling calcium and vitamins daily is a bit too much of a good thing. It would be better if you gave a small pinch of calcium twice a week, and a small pinch of vitamins once a week. Most excess vitamins just get peed out, but too much calcium is as bad as too little. Too much can cause the tort to not be able to utilise other nutrients he needs. Vitamin A is another needed vitamin, but too much causes illness, and injected it can cause skin to slough off.

For the pebble, I'm assuming it was too large for him to swallow. That's good; pebbles and grit can lodge in his stomach, and possibly cause problems in the intestines.

If he continues to try to eat them, or starts gnawing on other inedibles, order some 'MinerAll'. It's a mineral supplement you sprinkle on his food once a week. Sometimes torts (and other animals, too) will eat odd things because they are not getting something they need from their diet. MinerAll seems to fix this problem. It's a good addition even if the tort is not eating pica (the proper term for stuff that shouldn't be eaten). It's hard to be sure we are supplying every nutrient needed in the diets we feed them.

Karen(pebbles)

Platinum Tortoise Club
Bristol Uk
Hi Karen