Newbie here! Saying 'hello'!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

chaz_rulez

5 Year Member
Hello All!

I have quite a story about my 2 year Sulcata Tortoise, Chaz. My ex and I bought Chaz and another tortoise, Tori (R.I.P) about a year and a half a go. We had a long distance relationship going and it didn't work out after I got into an accident. However, Tori passed away while I was living in Arizona. Tori got ill and we could not revive him. Chaz seemed depressed for awhile afterwards and one day when I find the gender of the little one I want to get another partner for him. Do people suggest that this to be a "good" idea or bad idea? I am not certain about temperaments of adult Sulcatas. I am considering perhaps not breeding, but not sure if same gender tortoises get along well together.

Chaz is still alive, but I fret he may not be growing at a "normal" pace. I have been reading the forum and people say the breed grows at different paces. S/He has a constant warm environment and grazes every day, gets plenty of nutrients. Chaz is larger than when I got him, but youtube videos show some Sulcatas much larger with pyramid shelling, though. He does not have this (thankfully). What is a "typical" or "average" growth rate? Does anyone have a link that supports behavior patterns and growth rates? Some people have told me that their Sulcatas were quite aggressive and I want to prevent this from happening as Chaz is an awesome sweet critter. Chaz knows it's name and comes when is called, which is adorable to watch so far. What makes the Sulcata get aggressive if this is true?

Also, since Chaz is about two years old now, when can I detect the gender and how is this done?

Thanks from Southern California!

Danielle and Chaz :)

Attachments

• photo.JPG
    photo.JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 37

shanu303

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
India
Hello and Welcome to TFO!! :) sorry to hear about Tori ....

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!