Newbie Alert! Tortoise not eating

LinziLou76

Location (City and/or State)
Wakefield
Hello All x newbie here seeking advice as my new Horsefield tortoise has stopped eating and drinking. Is he trying to hibernate? Is he sick?

We got our new tort about 3 ½ wks ago. We were fully prepared, had our table set up, and were just waiting for the right tortoise. I know it’s not recommended but we were visiting a local reptile centre, and ended up purchasing a tortoise from there (I know its advised to buy from breeders but I felt like I was rescuing the little guy). The staff sounded knowledgeable and all the tortoise looked healthy and were eating. They told us he was approx. 1yr old

We have a table setup, with a combined heat and UVB bulb at one end. We have Grade A topsoil substrate, with beech chips in the enclosed end – purely to add variety and texture. The table is kept in a heated room in the house. We have a large flat slate under the lamp with a constant temperature of approx 32 degrees. The cooler end is approx 21/ 22 degrees. The lamp stays on approx 12 hrs a day, and at night the temp drops to about 19/20.

Over the last 3 weeks we have fed a diet of spring greens, kale, dandelion and clover, inc dried flower salad. Not sure I have ever seen him drink, but for the first 3 weeks he was poohing and weeing frequently on a daily basis. He was eating plenty of food, to the point I thought I might be feeding too much; both morning and night – we had planned for once a day. He appeared to have settled straight away. He even tackled the cuttle bone straight away. We use calcium dust 5/week and nutrabol 2/week.

We bath him daily for approx 20 mins, usually after school, not sure if this matters when. He usually poohs in the water, and wees when we get him out. The plan was to bath him daily until he was 2/3yrs, or 100g.