New to turtles...got one Red Ear Slider..please help me with its health..

phani7789

Hi All,
I am new to turtles world. One month back i have vrought Red Ear Slider turtle from a pet shop, kept it in a tank of 30cms length,10cms
width, 20cms height with a small basking area (with out any extra uv light),along with this i have put 4small size mollies fish..
they all were fine for one month, after one month the turtle stopped eating food n swimming in water, it satyed all the day in the basking
area and dont make any sound but for every 10minutes once it opened it mouth wide and raised it up(generally it use to make small sound all
the day).
i have asked the pet shop person about this and he gave me "Mr Green" drop saying it may be because of bacteria in water, asked us to put
5-7 drop evry time after aquarium cleanup. We did it like he said, but our turtle dead 4days back.
Now we brought a new Red Ear Slider turtle, Can anyone guide in the care to be taken. I have been thru many sites they have mention tipe
to be taken care off, i am following them like Arranging basking area, providing seperate turtle food, taking it and
put in sunlight for 10-15 min evry day..should i take care of any more thing??

NOTE:In my place in india we dont have any vet for animals, So i cant show my turtle to any vet, only shop keppers are the source of any medicines and even they are not completely aware of fishes or turtles.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello,and Welcome:). Someone better versed in turtles should be on soon. Sorry about the loss of your turtle. Hopefully someone will be able to help you with your new one. Good luck.

phani7789

Hi Wellington Thanks for your kind words..
Hi Russian, Thanks for providing link, in India we dont have these many varieties of turtle food, we have normal fish food(Small red,green colored ball shaped) and one turtle food(1cm in length)..

tglazie

10 Year Member!
San Antonio, TX