New to tortoise keeping

Wezpowell

Location (City and/or State)
Manchester
Hey guys,

I'm going to get a tort next month but I've never had a tort before. I have some experience with reptiles as my brother keeps lizards but I know it's very important to get it right for torts and I wanna make sure I give him the best possible chance to be happy. I'm going to run through my plan and any input would be much appreciated.

I'm going to get a Russian as I live in the UK and I believe Russians have the most similar climate out of the small torts.

I'm going to construct a wooden table around 4ft by 3ft which I think will be more than enough for a hatchling. I'm going to put a removable section on the side so I can extend it as he grows.

I'm thinking of building a 1ft by 1ft box section that can serve as a hide/sleeping area and use a ceramic heater in there set at around 18° as it sometimes gets v cold in the UK at night, even indoors.

I'm thinking of using a murcury vapor bulb as I don't want to use 2 bulbs and I think it will look more tidy. I will mount it so it can be adjusted to keep the basking temp around 27°.

I've been told the best substrate is a 50 50 mix of top soil and sand covered with reptile bark and deeper areas so he/she can burrow. Is this accurate? And how deep does the substrate need to be?

I'm going to put a small water hole for drinking and bathing and a feeding slate. I'm going to use some stones and higher areas so it can climb and a few cactus. I'm fully aware they will be eaten but I don't mind.

Any suggestions for improvements or any advice would be much appreciated

Cherryshell

Manassas Virginia
Welcome to the forums! I highly suggest reading this post to give the best care for you upcoming Russian: The Best Way To Raise Any Temperate Species Of Tortoise | Tortoise Forum