New to the world of tortoises!

Hgarrity

5 Year Member
Hey! My name is Holly. I'm from South Carolina! It sure is hot here today! I just purchased an adorable Hermann's hatchling. We have had him for two weeks. I am totally new to this world of tortoises. I also have 3 children, 3 hermit crabs, and two dogs! Our new little one seems to be doing great! I have been researching this forum for weeks to be prepared for his arrival. image.jpg image.jpg

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Holly, and welcome to the Forum!

It might be a good idea to bank some substrate up the sides of the flower pot so he can't fall off. Makes it easier to climb.

Hgarrity

5 Year Member
Thanks Yvonne! That's a good idea! He was so funny that day! He was up in the plant with his head on the pot asleep! So cute! Anyway, I will put some substrate on the sides. I don't want him falling over on his back trying to climb up there!

Grandpa Turtle 144

5 Year Member
Hello Holly welcome to the TFO from AZ . We are in a cold front here it's only 103 today . Cute tort ! Have a great tort day!

Sent from my iPhone using TortForum

bouaboua

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
San Jose CA
Hello and welcome.

Flipper

MO, USA
Hi Holly :D Your new Hermann tort is adorable :<3: I just got a baby last week and I too am a newbie :tort: They are just wonderful! Does your poop much? :oops:

Hgarrity

5 Year Member
Flipper, yes they are wonderful! My kids keep laughing at me, they say I worry about the tortoise more than them! He poops sometimes when I soak him in the morning. Not very often though. I haven't seen any in his enclosure. I read somewhere that a lot of times they eat it! Gross!!!!!

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
Salutations.
Nice looking tortoise.

mojo

Hastings, East Sussex