New to the Forum

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave D

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Just found this forum recently, thought I should introduce myself. Im fairly new to Leopard torts as well, I have had one for about 2 years now and recently just picked up another one.

tort1.jpg

The newest one with a little Calcium mustache.

tort2.jpg

The older one trying to push our computer desk. He never seems to want to stay still long enough to get a picture of his face for some reason.

Hopefully those pics show up properly.

Dave

jlyoncc1

10 Year Member!
NJ
Very nice Dave! Welcome to the forum! What are their names?

Dave D

10 Year Member!
Well Im not to great with names, so the older one is called Tortoise, and the younger one is Little Tortoise.

I dont know what I will do If I ever get another one.

Dave

Dave D

10 Year Member!
To be honest when I first got a leopard I didnt realize that the colour would change as it has. I didnt know if I liked it or not at first, but now I cant stop looking at him...he just looks awesome. Most of the pics I had seen at the time of older Leopards were much, much darker. Im wondering about how the younger one will turn out as he seems much darker then when the older one was his age.

The older one (Im assuming that it is a he) is about 6". Just so Im getting this right when you measure, your measuring the length of the shell along the bottom?

What king of substrate does everyone use?
I have been using shredded aspen in a 6' by 3' enclosure, with little to no problems but I was reading in another forum on here that aspen might not be the best choice but with little explination.
Hoping someone could fill me in.

Thanks
Dave

jlyoncc1

10 Year Member!
NJ
Dave, That's funny. Yes, you will be in a pickle if you get another. I use 50/50 soil and sand as well.

Dave D

10 Year Member!
Thanks guys,