New to Forum

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mortoise the Tortoise

5 Year Member
I am new to this whole online forum use, but I haven't had any luck researching online for answers so I figured maybe I could get some help here.

I have a tortoise who is housed outdoors in my back yard. I have had this tortoise for about 25 years and it is a beloved family member. I live in California on the central coast about 2 miles from the beach. My dad had originally found this tortoise crossing the road in a state park of a near by town just under 10 miles away. He brought it home when I was a very young child to keep as a pet, although that isn't usually encouraged, these tortoises are not at all native to the area and was most likely a lost pet of some one else. It grew comfortable to its new home with us, and we were more than happy to have a new addition to our family.

However, I still have no idea what species of tortoise I own! So that is my question I haven't been able to find the answer to. What kind of tortoise do I have?
I would say it is approx. 20 lbs and I can only assume it is full grown as it has not grown in size as long as we have owned it. Its shell is approx. 14- 18 inches long, has a rather flat but round shell in comparison to many of the tortoises I've seen online.. flat scales on the arms and legs (not spurred). Its color is a darker chocolate brown. We have always thought it is a female although I'm not 100% sure how to even determine that. I will post a few pictures and I really hope some one can help me in determining the species, so I can ensure proper care :) all responses are appreciated. Thank you!

View attachment 21882
View attachment 21881
View attachment 21877
View attachment 21880
View attachment 21879
View attachment 21878
View attachment 21876
View attachment 21875

Last edited by a moderator:

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
CA