New Sulcata Owner with a few questions and concerns

Status
Not open for further replies.

AdamR

5 Year Member
Hey! My name is Adam and I'm new to the tortoise world. I've kept a couple box turtles in my time and a few sliders but never a large tort. I actually deal mostly with ball pythons and after a long while of searching for my favorite tortoise I settled on a sulcata! Mainly because they are cute, hardy, outgoing, and have fun personalities. So at a recent reptile show I traded a ball python for a small sulcata (about 3-3.5"). I had done research and set up a suitable enclosure for the time being. But...yesterday I read Tom's thread for the first time about keeping the humidity high and how to prevent pyramiding. Now I am worried that my little Shelley's tank isn't good enough!

I have "her" in a 20L tank with timothy hay as a substrate and easy access to a shallow water bowl. She was eating, as I was told by the seller, Nature Zone tortoise food which I also bought from him thinking it was a good choice (after reading the Nutrition portion I have changed my opinion). I have been mixing this with cut up pieces of timothy and some dandelions from outside. I have a hot spot of around 95F and humidity, currently, around 40. "She" gets a 10-15min bath each day and I mist her enclosure several times. Is any of this correct/ incorrect? I will be switching to the substrate Tom posted in his other thread that he got from Lowes just as soon as I can find it!

My other question, before I read Tom's thread I didn't realize pyramiding was such a problem? Does this physically hurt them? Can it be reversed? Does my Shelley show signs of pyramiding? Thanks for all you help! This is a great forum!! I wish I had found this a few weeks ago!

M

Maggie Cummings