New Sulcata Owner: How am I doing so far?

alc2016dvm

First let me introduce myself. My name is Alissa and I live in Oklahoma. I am a 3rd year veterinary student at OSU and have three dogs, and recently two tortoises!

So I purchased two sulcata three weeks olds last Monday. Yes, I do know now that they do not do well in pairs. I am working on getting another hatchling. If I do not, I am also prepared to seperate them if needed. They are closely monitored and so far have no issue sharing space, however they are very young still. They are currently getting daily weigh-ins to insure that no one is losing weight.

Right now they are in an open tortoise table, which I have realized is a bad idea. This weekend I will be building a large "closed" enclosure. It will be 5' x 30". I was curious how long do you think it will be before they outgrown this size? They will not be able to go outside until at least the spring, as Oklahoma winters can be quite cold.

Diet: Their diet is a mix of spring lettuce mix (mainly romaine), collard greens, mazuri LS, grass from the yard, and small flowers from the yard. The have one cuttle bone broken in two in their enclosure. I have ordered zoo med repti cal to add to their diet a few times a week, it will be here tomorrow. I have also ordered the Sulcata Seed mix from Sulcata Grove to grow for them to graze on.

Lighting/Heating: I have purchased a Zoomed Powersun UV 100 watt MVL and a Zoomed Ceramic Infared Heat Emitter. Right now I am keeping their enclosure where the cool end is around 80*. Should I be letting it drop to 70* at night?

Humidity: The humidity right now is only staying around 60-70% due to being in an open box, I know I should be shooting for 80% and that will happen once I have their new enclosure built this weekend. I am using the ecoearth coconut fiber for their substrate.

Soaking: The babies are getting soaked for 20-30 minutes every night in warm water, 85*+, it seems the warmer I make it, the more they like it.