New Scottish member

Stevie909

'Morning folks,

New member from Scotland, just picked up my first tortoise yesterday. He's a Hermann's called Helmut and so far he seems to be a lazy sod.

When we got him home he roamed about his table quite the thing, then he discovered his food bowl and got stuck into it. Toddled off under cover and nestled in for the night. 12 hours later he's still dozing, I'm guessing this is normal? Checked him and he is still alive, so must just be tired from his big day.

Looking forward to being on here and learning as much as I can to be a good dad, I'll most likely be the neurotic parent on here every 5mins!

Stevie

IMG_2910.JPG

Greta16

Location (City and/or State)
Western Maine
Welcome!! Looks like my Hermie, she is just under 4 months and can be quite lazy..I'm no expert at all, but I'm learning tons on here. He or she prob is stressed from the move and needs time to chill. I'll let the experts chime in.

Stevie909

Welcome!! Looks like my Hermie, she is just under 4 months and can be quite lazy..I'm no expert at all, but I'm learning tons on here. He or she prob is stressed from the move and needs time to chill. I'll let the experts chime in.

Thank you! Had some calls earlier so popped home to check on him and he's sitting under the lamp looking quite pleased with himself. I think you're right, I can imagine the journey took it out of him it certainly did me!

Greta16

Western Maine
Thank you! Had some calls earlier so popped home to check on him and he's sitting under the lamp looking quite pleased with himself. I think you're right, I can imagine the journey took it out of him it certainly did me!
My Hermie hid for the first day and a half.

Lyn W

5 Year Member
UK
Hi Stevie and welcome to a great place for up to date information that many breeders and pet shops don't know about and don't tell you.