New Red-Foot Mama!

Nikki Gee

Hello there!

I recently picked up a red footed tortoise from someone who could no longer care of them. I just started out, but I feel like maybe the person taking care of the cute little tort wasn't the best pet parent, sadly; their skin is very dry and I see some pyramiding. I've just done gathering most of the necessities and am working on a tortoise table! I'm hoping to take the lil one in for a vet visit as soon as I find a veterinarian whose skilled in caring for tortoise's. I'm new to caring for reptiles, so I'm sure I'll be asking a ton of questions!

And my first one is does anyone know a good exotic veterinarian in Austin, Texas?

PS. Their name is Sherbert!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
I don't know the geography of Texas, but if Beaumont is anywhere near Austin, this is a very good tortoise vet:

Todd M Westin, DVM
Sherwood Animal Clinic
(409) 842-5114

Nikki Gee

I don't know the geography of Texas, but if Beaumont is anywhere near Austin, this is a very good tortoise vet:

Todd M Westin, DVM
Sherwood Animal Clinic
(409) 842-5114
Unfortunately, Beaumont is clear across to the other side of Texas near Louisiana, where as Austin is right about the center. But I appreciate the suggestion!

Pearly

5 Year Member
Central Texas, Austin area