New owner- I think my Hermann has a hole in his shell. Help!

tillysquibs

I've just collected my first ever tortoise today. He/she is thought to be 3-4 years old. He seems very active. Never had a tortoise before so I have no knowledge of what to do with him other than reading up on the net.
He's spent the last year in a heated outdoor building. It was barely heated though with no lamp. I'd guess it must have been no more than 15 degrees in there. I've got him a UVB and heat lamp but it doesn't arrive until tomorrow.
When we gave him a bath tonight we noticed a hole in his shell. i didn't want to poke too much but it does seems soft underneath the hole. It's not weeping though.
He was feed on veg and fruit, i noticed he had banana, broccoli and cucumber in his bowl. I've bought him some calcium powder but he's not had any yet.

What shall I do about his shell? Also how will I know if he is indeed a he?
Thanks in advance
Amy

image2 (6).JPG image3 (5).JPG

Last edited by a moderator:

Kori5

I don't have much experience but I would take him to the vet. It does look like a hole. Sounds like he wasn't kept in good conditions before you got him. What I do know is that you have to change his diet to weeds like dandelions plantain clover hibiscus rose petals etc.

Kori5

He doesn't look like a Hermann tortoise to me. But you need to post better pictures of carpace and plastron.

martaemha

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Poland
Poor thing. You need to take him to a good tort vet asap. Looks like he suffered awful conditions in this building. The diet he was given was not suitable for him either. You need to visit a vet not only because of the shell but also to get an idea of what's happening underneath. With poor diet his liver and kidneys may potentially be damaged.