New - My Weird Intro to Tortoises

Status
Not open for further replies.

mttrhll

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Ohio
Hi Everyone,

I have been researching tortoises for several years and I'm finally taking the plunge. I just ordered 2 RFs from Vicky Hale (tortoiseyard).

... So now for the reason I started researching tortoises. I live in Ohio and back in 2007 I spotted something strange on the side of the road. There was a tortoise making a run for it next to a rather busy intersection.

Obviously these guys don't live here... in fact where I live it would be rare to even see a box turtle... more likely to see a snapping turtle who's decided to relocate.

I can't help trying to save animals in danger so I pulled over and asked my wife to please go grab the big guy (I'm glad it wasn't a snapping turtle ;) ... I couldn't stop and get out of the car b/c of how busy the intersection was.

Later that day I called my sister and told her what we found. Oddly enough she said that her neighbor who was a police officer just was talking to her about a missing tortoise.

Long story short I had to do research to take care of our guest until we could work through the police and reunite him (Gus) with his mom. Can you believe this guy's luck? :)

I even got a little write-up in the Columbus Dispatch my local newspaper... but more importantly I was hooked on how cool tortoises are and wanted to learn as much as I could.

Anyway, this post is getting too long, but this forum is great and I look forward to getting involved and learning from you guys.

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
Hi and welcome! What kind of tortoise was the one you found? Vicky is known for having nice rf, I am sure you will be very happy with your choice. :tort:

ScottishFish

5 Year Member
Scotland
Lucky little guy. Welcome to the forum

'Or like the snow falls in the river,
A moment white, then melts forever'
~Robert Burns - Tam O' Shanter